

# City of San Antonio

## Agenda Memorandum

File Number: 16-2641

**Agenda Item Number: 3.** 

**Agenda Date:** 4/27/2016

**In Control:** Governance Committee

**DEPARTMENT: Pre-K 4 SA** 

**DEPARTMENT HEAD:** Peter Zanoni, Deputy City Manager; Kathy Bruck, CEO

**COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:** City Wide

#### **SUBJECT:**

Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors Appointments

#### **SUMMARY:**

This item allows the Governance Committee to forward recommendations to the full City Council for appointments to the Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors for the five even-numbered City Council District appointed members whose terms end on May 31, 2016.

#### **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

The Early Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation (Pre-K 4 SA) Board of Directors is comprised of 11 Board Members. In accordance with the Pre-K 4 SA bylaws, the Board of Directors is appointed by the City Council. Each City Council member and the Mayor appoint one Director to the Board. The Mayor's Appointee serves as the Chairperson of the Board. District appointees do not have to reside in the City Council District for which they are serving but they do need to have residency in the City of San Antonio.

Board Members serve two-year staggered terms. Appointees of even-numbered City Council Districts served a term of two years beginning in 2014 and ending on May 31, 2016. Successors will serve a two-year term beginning June 1, 2016 and ending May 31, 2018. The odd-numbered City Council Districts appointments also serve a two-year term that will end on May 31, 2017.

Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors Appointees, their respective City Council Districts, and expiration dates of terms follow:

Mayor - Elaine Mendoza May 31, 2017

District 1 - Dr. Richard Middleton May 31, 2017

District 2 - Pamela E. Ray May 31, 2016

District 3 - Major General Josue "Joe" Robles, Jr. May 31, 2017

District 4 - Richard Perez May 31, 2016

District 5 - Gloria A. Ramirez May 31, 2017

District 6 - Lucy Hall May 31, 2016

District 7 - Frances Guzman May 31, 2017

District 8 - Dr. Shari Albright May 31, 2016

District 9 - Dr. Gogi Dickson May 31, 2017

District 10 - Dr. Linda G. Foster May 31, 2016

#### ISSUE:

This item allows the Governance Committee to forward recommendations to the full City Council for appointments to the Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors for the five even-numbered City Council District appointed members whose terms end on May 31, 2016.

The City Council members for City Council Districts 2, 4, 6, and 8 have each recommended reappointing the existing Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors Members to serve their respective Districts. The incumbent Pre-K 4 SA Board Members have expressed a willingness to serve an additional term. Staff is supportive of the City Council Members' decision to recommend the reappointment of the existing Board Members for the appointees for City Council Districts 2, 4, 6, and 8.

Founding Board Member Dr. Linda G. Foster who has recently retired from more than 30 years in education has expressed her desire to not continue on the Pre-K Board. Councilman Gallagher has selected Phillip Thomson to serve as the District 10 representative for the Board of Directors. Staff is supportive of the

Councilman Gallagher's recommendation.

The new term for the appointees of Districts 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10 will begin on June 1, 2016 and last through May 31, 2018.

After the Governance Committee meeting on April 27, 2016, nominees for the aforementioned five City Council Districts will be presented to the full City Council on May 5, 2016.

The following list is the City Council Member making the reappointment and the recommended Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors Member.

## **District 2 - Pamela Ray**

- Tenured Assistant Professor and Program Director, Early Childhood and Family Studies at St. Philip's College
- Doctoral Student, Higher Education, University of the Incarnate Word
- Professional affiliations include: National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC); the National Black Child Development Institute (NBCDI); and San Antonio Association for the Education of Young children (SAAEYC)

#### **District 4 - Richard Perez**

- CEO of The Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce
- Master's Degree in Public Administration from the University of Kansas
- Formerly served as: City Council Member for District 4; Special Assistant to the Deputy Secretary of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

## **District 6 - Lucy Hall**

- Over 30 years of experience working for Edgewood ISD
- Master's Degree in Education from Our Lady of the Lake University
- Professional affiliations include: Alamo Area Alliance of Black School Educators and Coalition of 100 Black Women

#### District 8 - Dr. Shari Albright

- Norine R. Murchison Distinguished Professor of Practice and Chair of the Department of Education at Trinity University
- Doctorate in Educational Leadership from Columbia University
- Formerly served as: Project Director at SBC Foundation; Fellow in the Kellogg National Leadership Program; Principal at International School of the Americas; Director of Special Projects at North East ISD; CEO of Asia Society International Studies Schools Network

## **District 10 - Phillip Thomson**

- Software and database developer for small company in northeast San Antonio
- Bachelor's in Science degree in Computer Science
- President of HOA and active member in Knights of Columbus Council

### **ALTERNATIVES:**

City staff worked with each of the City Council Members to provide them alternative Board appointee options. The recommendations herein are consistent with the City Council Districts' input.

## **FISCAL IMPACT:**

There is no fiscal impact associated with this briefing.

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

Staff recommends that the Governance Committee approve to reappoint the existing appointees for City Council Districts 2, 4, 6, and 8 and approve the candidate appointment for City Council District 10 to the full City Council for consideration of approval.