

City of San Antonio

Agenda Memorandum

File Number: 17-2687

Agenda Item Number: 24.

Agenda Date: 5/18/2017

In Control: City Council A Session

DEPARTMENT: Tricentennial Office

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Edward Benavides

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: City Wide

SUBJECT:

Amending the Bylaws of the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission

SUMMARY:

This item amends the Bylaws of the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission to modify the appointment process for appointees representing Bexar County and extend the Directors' terms of service from previously ending from May 2017 to September 30, 2019.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

San Antonio will celebrate its 300th anniversary in 2018. From Yanaguana settlement to the Villa de Bejar to the 7th largest city in the United States, our remarkable journey tells the story not just of our people and place but of larger forces that shaped the world we live in today. Our Tricentennial year will be an opportunity to discover our roots, commemorate our storied history, recognize our progress and collaborate on our bright future.

The San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission is a joint effort of the City of San Antonio and Bexar County, and is a local government corporation that coordinates all commemorative planning, identifies potential partners, approves and disseminates a unique identity for the 300th anniversary. The City of San Antonio Tricentennial Office serves as the lead coordinator of the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Local Government Corporation.

The Co-Chairs of the San Antonio Tricentennial Commission are Father David Garcia, Dr. Katie Luber, Robert

Thrailkill, Lionel Sosa and Dr. Alfonso Chiscano.

The San Antonio Tricentennial Commission's other Directors are:

Honorable Tommy Adkisson Mayoral Appointee Council District 1 Hector Cardenas Council District 2 Joe Linson Brenda Pacheco Council District 3 Cynthia Teniente-Matson Council District 4 Faith Radle Council District 5 Jim Landers Council District 6 Cristina Bazaldua-Salazar Council District 7 Blayne Tucker Council District 8 Freida Wright Council District 9 Luke Holland Council District 10 T.C. Calvert Bexar County Appointee Carrie Baker Bexar County Appointee

ISSUE:

Mr. T.C. Calvert and Carrie Baker, Bexar County appointees, have resigned their Director positions from the San Antonio Tricentennial Commission. The current Bylaws require Directors representing Bexar County to first receive recommendation from Bexar County officials prior to appointment by the City Council.

Further, the Director's current term limits expire May 31, 2017, a critical time period for successful Tricentennial celebration planning.

This item amends the Bylaws of the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission, created by City Council on June 18, 2015, to modify the appointment process for County appointments and to extend the Directors' terms of service from previously ending from May 2017 to September 30, 2019.

Amendments to the San Antonio Tricentennial Commission's Bylaws must be approved by City Council.

ALTERNATIVES:

City Council could choose to not amend the bylaws to allow Bexar County Commissioners Court to appoint their own Tricentennial Directors, which could cause confusion and could discourage collaboration between the City and County on the Tricentennial Celebration. A disruption in the composition of the Commission's Directors in May, 2017 could slow the momentum of the current Board and present issues related to education new Directors about the San Antonio Tricentennial Commission's many ongoing initiatives.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact associated with amending the Bylaws of the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission.

RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends amending the Bylaws to allow Bexar County Commissioners Court to appoint or replace its own Directors to the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission without requiring City Council approval. Additionally, staff recommends amending the Directors' terms of office to allow continuity of leadership throughout the Tricentennial Celebration year.