

City of San Antonio

Agenda Memorandum

File Number: 17-5322

Agenda Item Number: 2.

Agenda Date: 9/19/2017

In Control: Arts, Culture and Heritage Committee

DEPARTMENT: Department of Arts & Culture

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Debbie Racca-Sittre

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: All Council Districts

SUBJECT: Briefing on Distinction in the Arts

SUMMARY:

The Department of Arts & Culture will host the 3rd Distinction in the Arts (DIA) Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, October 17, 2017 at the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts. The ceremony will begin at 6:30 p.m. and will be followed by a reception. The DIA award is presented to an Artist, Organization or Individual who has provided enduring and effective cultural leadership, displayed exceptional artistic accomplishments and/or has made a significant contribution and impact to the San Antonio arts community.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

The Department of Arts & Culture, working closely with Councilman Roberto C. Treviño, hosted the inaugural Distinction In the Arts (DIA) Awards in October 2015 to highlight and celebrate the arts in San Antonio. The second DIA Awards were held on October 11, 2016 in the Alvarez Theater of the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts with over 300 guests in attendance. The DIA awards celebrations included award presentations, performances, and a curated film archiving the achievements of the honorees.

2016 Honorees: Jim Cullum (music), Maria Lopez De Leon (arts administration), Jesse Trevino (visual arts), Tomas Ybarra-Frausto (literary arts) and Aaronetta Hamilton Pierce (arts patron).

2015 Honorees: Teresa Champion (dance), Vincent Valdez (visual arts), Naomi Shihab Nye (literary arts), Flaco Jimenez (music), and H.E.B. (arts patron).

ISSUE: Briefing and invitation to the 2017 Distinction in the Arts Awards at the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts.

ALTERNATIVES: Item is a briefing, no action is being taken.

FISCAL IMPACT: Funds have been allocated in FY17 and FY18 budgets.