

City of San Antonio

Agenda Memorandum

File Number:17-5357

Agenda Item Number: 16.

Agenda Date: 10/5/2017

In Control: City Council A Session

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

Mayoral, Council District 1, Council District 2, Council District 3, Council District 5, Council District 7, and Council District 8

SUBJECT: Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

- A) Appointing Monique Diaz (District 8) to the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- B) Appointing Hannah Mery (District 8) and reappointing Henry Brun (District 7) to the San Antonio Arts Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- C) Appointing James Pobanz (District 8) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- D) Appointing Sofia Alejandra Lopez (District 1) and reappointing Francine S. Romero (District 8) to the Zoning Commission for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- E) Appointing Donald Oroian (District 8) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- F) Appointing Lillian Ariel Cervantes (District 7), Layne-Grace Garza Armstrong (District 7), and reappointing Divina C. Carrillo (District 5) to the San Antonio Youth Commission for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- G) Reappointing Edna Griffin (District 7) to the City County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.

- H) Appointing David Christian (District 2) and Anita Uribe Martin (District 7) to the Brooks Development Authority for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- I) Reappointing Anne-Marie Grube (District 7) to the Historic and Design Review Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- J) Reappointing Jesus Rodriguez (District 5) to the Small Business Advocacy Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- K) Reappointing Robert P. Gonzales (District 5) to the Transportation Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- L) Reappointing Sofia Bahena (District 7) to the SA2020 Commission on Education for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- M) Appointing Susan K. Filyk (District 8) to the Linear Creekway Parks Area Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- N) Reappointing Rachel W. Cywinski (District 3) to the Disability Access Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- O) Appointing Martha Tijerina (Mayoral) and Weslee Baerga (District 8) to the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2019.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.