

City of San Antonio

Agenda Memorandum

File Number:19-8350

Agenda Item Number: 17.

Agenda Date: 11/14/2019

In Control: City Council A Session

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

Mayoral, Council District 2, Council District 3, Council District 4, Council District 5, Council District 7, Council District 9, and Council District 10

SUBJECT:

Board Appointment

SUMMARY:

- A) Appointing Leah Lowder (Mayoral) to the Transportation Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- B) Reappointing Linda Hardberger (Mayoral) and Freda Facey (District 9) to the San Antonio Arts Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- C) Appointing Jade McCullough (District 2) to the Small Business Advocacy Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- D) Reappointing James Mock III (District 9) to the Port Authority of San Antonio for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- E) Reappointing Jose A. Picon (District 2) to the San Antonio Higher Education Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- F) Appointing Andrew M. Ozuna (Mayoral) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- G) Appointing William G. Nichols (District 10) and reappointing Gloria Zamora (District 5) to the City and County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire

May 31, 2021.

- H) An Ordinance appointing Lyssa Ochoa (District 7) to the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021; and waiving the City Code Residency Requirement in Chapter 2, Article IX, Section 2-259(b) for this appointment.
- I) Appointing George L. Britton Jr. (District 4) to the Building Standard Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- J) Appointing Kacy Cigarroa (District 4) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- K) Appointing Erik Peterson (Mayoral) to the San Antonio Youth Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- L) Reappointing George L. Garcia (District 3) to the Animal Care Services Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- M) Appointing Julissa Carillo (District 5) and Jaime Macias (District 5) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 30 Westside for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- N) Appointing Christy Woodward (District 9) and reappointing Patrick Lang (District 2) to the Ethics Review Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire April 25, 2021.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval

the Board Appointments.