

City of San Antonio

Agenda Memorandum

File Number:20-1777

Agenda Item Number: 5.

Agenda Date: 2/26/2020

In Control: Housing Commission

DEPARTMENT: Neighborhood and Housing Services Department

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Verónica R. Soto, AICP, Neighborhood and Housing Services Department Director

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: Citywide

SUMMARY:

Recognitions of service for Housing Commission Chair Lourdes Castro Ramirez and Commissioner Marianne Kestenbaum.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

In August of 2017, Mayor Ron Nirenberg established the Mayor's Housing Policy Task Force (MHPTF) to develop a comprehensive and compassionate housing policy roadmap and lead a policy-making process grounded in community, data, and best practices to address the full spectrum of housing.

In September of 2018, City Council accepted the recommendations and approved key recommendations to ensure an adequate supply of affordable housing. One of the recommendations in the report was to reconstitute the Housing Commission as a public oversight board to guide the implementation of San Antonio's Housing Policy Framework and engage the public.

The Commission has been in operation since February 7th, 2019. Two Commissioners have stepped down for personal reasons in that time.

ISSUE:

Commissioner Lourdes Castro Ramirez, served as the founding Chair of the newly formed Housing Commission from February 2019 to present. Chair Castro Ramirez has taken an opportunity out of state and her last meeting with the Commission will be Wednesday, February 26th.

Commissioner Marianne Kestenbaum served from February 2019 to November 2019. For their service, the City

Clerk and Office of the Mayor recognize them with an acknowledgement.

ALTERNATIVES:

This item is for briefing purposes only.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact at this time.

RECOMMENDATION:

This item is for briefing purposes only.