

City of San Antonio

Agenda Memorandum

File Number:20-1922

Agenda Item Number: 20.

Agenda Date: 3/5/2020

In Control: City Council A Session

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Tina Flores, Deputy City Clerk

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

Council District 1, Council District 3, and Council District 7

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

- A) Appointing Shawn Hatter (District 1), and reappointing Lynn Knapik (District 1), Richard Hartman (District 1), and Suzanne Scott (District 1) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 31 - Midtown Board of Directors for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- B) Appointing Abel Menchaca Jr. (District 3) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- C) Reappointing Greg Hammer (District 7) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- D) Reappointing Elena Guajardo (District 7) to the City Bond Oversight Commission of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- E) Appointing Alejo Soto (District 7) to the San Antonio Youth Commission of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

To proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval the Board Appointments.