

City of San Antonio

Agenda Memorandum

File Number: 20-4016

Agenda Item Number: 14.

Agenda Date: 8/6/2020

In Control: City Council A Session

DEPARTMENT: Pre-K 4 SA

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Sarah Baray, Ph.D.

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: Citywide

SUBJECT:

Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors Appointments

SUMMARY:

This item allows City Council to approve recommendations for appointments to the Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors for the five even-numbered City Council District appointments for Board Members whose term ended on May 31, 2020.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

The Early Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation (Pre-K 4 SA) Board of Directors is comprised of 11 Board Members. In accordance with the Pre-K 4 SA bylaws, the Board of Directors is appointed by the City Council and the Mayor. Each City Council member and the Mayor appoint one Director to the Board. The Mayor's appointee serves as the Chairperson of the Board. District appointees do not have to reside in the City Council District for which they are serving, but they do need to have residency in the City of San Antonio.

Board Members serve two-year staggered terms. Appointees of even-numbered City Council Districts served a term of two years beginning in 2018 and ending on May 31, 2020. The new two-year term begins June 1, 2020 and ends May 31, 2022. The odd-numbered City Council Districts appointments also serve a two-year term that will end on May 31, 2021.

The current Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors, their respective City Council Districts, and expiration dates of

terms follow.

Mayor - Elaine Mendoza May 31, 2021

District 1 - Dr. Richard Middleton May 31, 2021

District 2 - Brandon Logan May 31, 2020

District 3 - Joseph De La Garza May 31, 2021

District 4 - Richard Perez May 31, 2020

District 5 - Gloria A. Ramirez May 31, 2021

District 6 - Dr. Tracy Hurley May 31, 2020

District 7 - Frances Guzman May 31, 2021

District 8 - Dr. Shari Albright May 31, 2020

District 9 - Dr. Gogi Dickson May 31, 2021

District 10 - Vacant May 31, 2020

ISSUE:

The City Council Members for City Council Districts 2, 4, 6, and 8 have each recommended reappointing the existing Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors Members to serve their respective Districts. The incumbent Pre-K 4 SA Board Members have expressed a willingness to serve an additional term. Staff is supportive of the City Council Members' decisions to recommend the reappointment of the existing Board Members for City Council Districts 2, 4, 6, and 8. The City Councilmember for City Council District 10 has selected Jan Kirby to serve their respective Districts on the Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors.

The new term for appointees of Districts 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10 will begin on June 1, 2020 and last through May 31, 2022. The following list is the City Council Member making the reappointment and the recommended Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors Member for the even numbered City Council Districts.

District 2 - Brandon A. Logan

As CEO of Urban Capital Partners, Brandon is responsible for the corporation's strategy management, operational production, and expansion initiatives. The purpose of Urban Capital Partners is to establish people and place-based strategies that uplift the standard of learning and living in inner city communities. Brandon graduated Cum Laude in three years from Grambling State University with a BS degree in Business Management. Currently, Brandon serves on the Board of Trustees at Hallmark University and on the Board of Directors at KLRN, Najim Family Foundation, Rotary Club of San Antonio, SAISD Foundation, and the Valero Alamo Bowl.

District 4 - Richard Perez

Richard Perez is the CEO of The Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce. He formerly served as a City Council Member for District 4 and Special Assistant to the Deputy Secretary of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. Richard has a Master's Degree in Public Administration from the University of Kansas.

District 6 - Dr. Tracy Hurley

Dr. Tracy Hurley is the Dean of the College of Business at Texas A&M University - San Antonio. Dr. Hurley previously served on the SA 2020 Education Task Force as a representative of Texas A&M University - San Antonio. Dr. Hurley has a Ph.D. in Business and a Master of Business Administration and Bachelor of Business Administration from the University of Houston.

District 8 - Dr. Shari Albright

Dr. Shari Albright is president of the Raise Your Hand Texas Foundation, a nonprofit that works to improve Texas public education. She has formerly served as the Norine R. Murchison Distinguished Professor of Practice and Chair of the Department of Education at Trinity University, Fellow in the Kellogg National Leadership Program, Principal at International School of the Americas, Director of Special Projects at North East ISD, and Elementary teacher and administrator in East Central ISD. Dr. Albright obtained her Doctorate in Educational Leadership from Columbia University.

District 10 - Jan Kirby

Jan Kirby is a retired teacher with a Master's Degree in Early Childhood Education and more than 30 years' experience teaching kindergarten and pre-kindergarten in both public and private schools, as well as the Preschool Program for Children with Disabilities. During those years, she received an English as a Second Language (ESL) Endorsement and was certified as an interpreter for Northside ISD. Jan has served on the board of the Northern Hills HOA and been involved in other District 10 activities for 13 years.

ALTERNATIVES:

City staff worked with each of the City Council Members to provide them alternative Board appointee options. The recommendations herein are consistent with the City Council Districts' input.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact associated with this item.

RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends that the City Council approve the appointment of members for City Council Districts 2, 4, 6,

8, and 10 to the Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors.