

City of San Antonio

Agenda Memorandum

File Number: 15-3740

Agenda Item Number: a.

Agenda Date: 6/16/2015

In Control: San Antonio Arts Commission



San Antonio Arts Commission Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, April 15, 2015

9am

Municipal Plaza, Plaza Room C

114 W. Commerce Street

San Antonio, TX 78205

Members Present	Members absent	<u>Staff</u>
Nettie Hinton-D2	Ernest Gonzales - D1	Felix Padrón
Susana Segura-D4	Ernesto Olivo-D3	Ruby Webb
Valeria Hernandez - D5	Debra Nicolas - D8	James LeFlore
Larry Lapaglia - D6	Tracey Curran-Herman - D9	Sarah Yates
Henry Brun - D7	Mark Rogers - D10	Myra Ramirez

M. Rene Barilleaux

M. Alice Foultz

M.Guillermo Nicolas (Chair)

M. Eduardo Garcia

M. Jessica Sanchez

Lisa Biediger (Atty)

Meeting called to order at 9:03am by Guillermo Nicolas. Roll Call taken by Myra Ramirez.

Approval of minutes

a. <u>Motion</u>: Ernest Gonzales set forth a motion to approve the Public Art Board meeting minutes from the meeting held on March 25, 2015. Jessica Sanchez seconded the motion.

Discussion: None

Vote: Approved unanimously, Motion approved.

b. <u>Motion</u>: Henry Brun set forth a motion to approve the Cultural Arts Board meeting minutes from the meeting held on March 30, 2015. Valeria Hernandez seconded the motion.

<u>Discussion:</u> Nettie Hinton requests that the sentence regarding the comments she made on congratulating the Carver needed to be corrected and expanded.

Vote: Approved unanimously, Motion approved.

<u>Citizens to be Heard</u>

Stephen Cross of The Magik Theatre
Graciela Sanchez of Esperanza Center
Diane Malone of Classic Theatre
Elaine Leahy of Blue Star Contemporary Arts
Francesca Rattray of Artpace
Amelia Nañez & Jacob Valenzuela of Network for Young Artists
Anna Chowdhurg of San Antonio Musuem of Art
Kellen McIntyre of Bihl Haus Arts
Annette Paulin of San Antonio Symphony

Briefing on Arts Commission Member Roles and Responsibilities

Felix Padrón gave a briefing on the Arts Commission Member Roles; he reviewed structure for the Executive Arts Committee that will be comprised of the commission chair and two committee vice chairs. There will be 2 subcommittees, the Public Art Committee and the Art Funding Committee. He stated that the Arts Commission would meet approximately six times per year and the standing committees will continue to meet on a monthly basis.

James LeFlore discussed surveying that was conducted to come up with meeting dates and times. Sarah Yates discussed doodle poll results received from 10 members, 5 are still pending. Majority of the members said Tuesday or Wednesday mornings were the best days and times.

Felix Padron explained that the Arts Funding Committee and the Public Art Committee will continue to work under the same policies and guidelines that are currently in place, nothing will change. All terms will expire May 31st or later depending on the outcome of upcoming elections. If members are interested in continuing to participate they are encouraged to submit an application to the City Clerk's Office so that those applications can be shared with the newly elected Mayor and Council.

Announcements and Reports

Felix Padron presented members with the official City of San Antonio Fiesta Medal.

Application for Arts Fundung programs including stART Place and Festivals & Community Celebrations are about to launch and the application workshops are ongoing.

Kellan-Bihl Arts, requested to make a comment regarding the absence of community arts organizations in the arts categories in the slides presented to the committee. She requests that the item be looked at and added in a separate category as they are funded separately and should be treated separately as they have in the past.

Board Member Comments

Nettie Hinton expressed concern on the difficulty of getting a quorum.

Adjournment

Motion:

Henry Brun set forth a motion to adjourn the meeting. Jessica Sanchez seconded the motion.

Discussion: None.

Vote:

Approved unanimously, motion approved.

Meeting adjourned at 9:53a.m.