

City of San Antonio

Agenda Memorandum

File Number: 15-4135

Agenda Item Number: 15.

Agenda Date: 8/6/2015

In Control: City Council A Session

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: Council District 1, Council District 2, Council District 3, Council District 4, Council District 5, Council District 6, Council District 8, Council District 9, and Council District 10

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

- A) Reappointing Lila G. Aguirre (District 8) to the City/County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- B) Reappointing Margaret L. Wilson-Anaglia (District 2) and Steven Goldberg (District 8) to the Brooks Development Authority for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- C) Reappointing Ricardo Briones (District 5) to the Zoning Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- D) Appointing Alexis M. Cay (District 2), Samuel Macias (District 4), Santiago R. Hernandez (District 4), Autumn D. Ladner (District 6), Jason T. Dick (District 6), and Jacob A. Trevino (District 10) to the San Antonio Youth Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- E) Reappointing Charles J. Conner (District 8) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- F) Reappointing Maria D. Cruz (District 5) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- G) Appointing Linda Lopez-George (District 8), Jane Fritz (District 9) and Naomi E. Miller (District 10) to the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.

- H) Reappointing Roland F. Gonzales (District 8) to the Small Business Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- I) Reappointing Nettie P. Hinton (District 2) and Henry Brun (District 7) to the San Antonio Arts Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- J) Reappointing Marianne Kestenbaum (District 8) to the SA2020 Commission on Strengthening Family Well-being for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- K) Reappointing Julius G. Lorenzi (District 5) and Paul Martin (District 8) to the SA2020 Commission on Education for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- L) Reappointing John A. Rodriguez (District 3) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- M) Appointing Jennifer T. Martinez (District 1) and reappointing Melissa D. Unsell (District 8) to the Parks and Recreation Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- N) Appointing Stephanie V. Vasquez (District 4) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 28 Verano for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- O) Reappointing Victor A. Landa (District 6), J. Rolando Bono (District 1), and Daniel F. Weingart (District 8) to the Port Authority of San Antonio for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- P) Reappointing Ryan M. Pflipsen (District 8) and Danielle M. Cunningham (District 10) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- Q) Reappointing Guadalupe G. Garcia (District 3) to the Transportation Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- R) Reappointing Clayton Perry (District 10) to the Building Standards Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- S) Appointing Jennifer T. Martinez (District 1) to the Parks and Recreation Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- T) Appointing John A. Chisholm (San Antonio River Authority Category) to the Conservation Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.