

City of San Antonio

Agenda Memorandum

File Number: 15-4335

Agenda Item Number: 21.

Agenda Date: 8/13/2015

In Control: City Council A Session

DEPARTMENT: Tricentennial Office

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Ed Belmares

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: City Wide

SUBJECT:

Appointing City and County co-chairs and members to the San Antonio Tricentennial Commission

SUMMARY:

This item would amend the Bylaws of the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission, created by City Council on June 18, 2015, to enlarge the number of the Commission's Board of Directors from 15 to 19 and formally appoint all co-chairs and Board members. The Commission is a local government corporation created under Chapter 431, Texas Transportation Code, as amended, to aid, assist, and act on behalf of the City in the performance of the City's governmental functions associated with the planning, developing, identifying potential partners, managing, fundraising, and financing projects involved with all Tricentennial celebration activities.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

San Antonio will celebrate our 300th anniversary on May 5, 2018. From Yanaguana settlement to the Villa de Bejar to the 7th largest city in the United States, our remarkable journey tells the story not just of our people and place but of larger forces that shaped the world we live in today. Our tricentennial year will be an opportunity to discover our roots, commemorate our storied history, recognize our progress and collaborate on our bright future.

The co-chairs of the San Antonio Tricentennial Commission have been confirmed as Father David Garcia, Archdiocese of San Antonio; Kelso Director of the San Antonio Museum of Art, Dr. Katie Luber; Hilton Palacio del Rio General Manager Robert Thrailkill; and additionally, as authorized in the amended Bylaws,

include County-appointed co-chairs, Lionel Sosa and Dr. Alfonso Chiscano.

Along with past Mayors serving as Honorary Chairs, the Commission's composition will include:

Honorable Tommy Adkisson Mayoral Appointee Council District 1 **Hector Cardenas** Council District 2 Joe Linson Brenda Pacheco Council District 3 Cynthia Teniente-Matson Council District 4 Faith Radle Council District 5 Jim Landers Council District 6 Cristina Bazaldua-Salazar Council District 7 Blayne Tucker Council District 8 Freida Wright Council District 9 Council District 10 Luke Holland Dr. Felix D. Almaraz, Jr. Bexar County Appointee T.C. Calvert Bexar County Appointee Carrie Baker Wells Bexar County Appointee

Advisory members to the Tricentennial Commission include representatives from the :

Fiesta San Antonio Commission

Luminaria

San Antonio Conservation Society

Bexar County Historical Society

San Antonio Genealogical & Historical Society

San Antonio Historical Association

Los Compadres de San Antonio Missions National Historical Park

Joint Base San Antonio

San Antonio Tourism Council

San Antonio Parks Foundation

Hemisfair Park Area Redevelopment Corporation

Centro San Antonio

Texas General Land Office

San Antonio Library Foundation

Professional Tour Guide Association of San Antonio

The Co-Chairs of the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission and its appointed members will serve as the Board of the newly formed Local Government Corporation. The Commission is a local government corporation that will coordinate all Tricentennial celebration planning, identify potential partners, approve and disseminate a unique identity for our 300th anniversary, and integrate existing and recurring events into the Tricentennial framework. This Board will report to the City Council through the City Council Governance Committee.

The San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission will be supported by the Tricentennial Organizing Committee, composed of representatives of the organizations mentioned above and staff from the public sector, non-profit and philanthropic communities. The work of the Organizing Committee will build on efforts by City of San Antonio staff, including the City Manager's Office, Department for Culture and Creative Development (DCCD), Office of Historic Preservation, Center City Development and Operations Department, Convention & Visitors Bureau, and International Relations Office. The Tricentennial Office will serve as the lead coordinator of the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Local Government Corporation and all parties involved. County

staff from the Office of Bexar Heritage will serve as Bexar County's lead staff effort and representation supporting the Tricentennial commemoration.

ISSUE:

Amending the Bylaws requires City Council action.

ALTERNATIVES:

City Council could choose to not amend the bylaws to enlarge the number of co-chairs and board members at this time which would delay the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission from carrying out its duties of planning, developing, identifying potential partners, managing, fundraising, and financing projects involved with all Tricentennial celebration activities.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact associated with this action amending the Bylaws and appointing chairs and additional board members to the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission

RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends approval of the additional co-chairs and an increase in the number of director positions to the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission.