

# City of San Antonio

## Agenda Memorandum

File Number: 15-4396

**Agenda Item Number: 16.** 

**Agenda Date:** 8/20/2015

In Control: City Council A Session

**DEPARTMENT:** Office of the City Clerk

**DEPARTMENT HEAD:** Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

#### **COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:**

Council District 1, Council District 2, Council District 6, Council District 7, Council District 8, and Council District 9

#### **SUBJECT:**

**Board Appointments** 

#### **SUMMARY:**

- A) Appointing Bill H. Bailey (District 9) to the Citizens' Environmental Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- B) Reappointing Manuel Villa, Jr. (District 6) and Tamara A. Tapman (District 9) to the Brooks Development Authority for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- C) Appointing Veronica L. Vasquez (District 2) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- D) Reappointing Christine D. Alderete (District 7) to the Port Authority of San Antonio for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- E) Reappointing Cosima T. Colvin (District 1) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- F) Reappointing Frank G. Fonseca (District 7) to the Parks & Recreation Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- G) Reappointing John G. Rogers (District 1) and Gabriel L. Lopez (District 8) to the San Antonio Housing Trust for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- H) Reappointing Alan C. Neff (District 2), Mary E. Rogers (District 7), and John E. Kuderer (District 9) to

the Zoning Board of Adjustment for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.

- I) Appointing Larry V. Parsons (District 8) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- J) Appointing Councilmember Joe Krier (Mayoral); and reappointing Councilmember Ray Lopez (Mayoral) and Art A. Hall (Mayoral) to the Fire and Police Pension Fund for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- K) Appointing Councilmember Rebecca J. Viagran (Mayoral) and Councilmember Ron Nirenberg (Mayoral); and reappointing Art A. Hall (Mayoral) to the Fire and Police Pre-Funded Healthcare Trust Fund for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- L) Appointing Juspreet Kaur (District 8) to the San Antonio Public Library Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2016; and reappointing Jean L. Brady (District 1) for a term effective October 1, 2015 to expire September 30, 2017.

#### **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

#### **ISSUE:**

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

### **ALTERNATIVES:**

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

#### **FISCAL IMPACT:**

There is no fiscal impact.

#### **RECOMMENDATION:**

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.