

City of San Antonio

Agenda Memorandum

File Number: 15-4646

Agenda Item Number: 14.

Agenda Date: 9/3/2015

In Control: City Council A Session

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

Council District 1, Council District 2, Council District 3, Council District 4, Council District 5, Council District 6, Council District 7, Council District 8, Council District 9, and Council District 10

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

- A) Reappointing Anthony Rogers (District 4) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- B) Reappointing Virginia M. Brown (District 6) to the Animal Care Services Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- C) Appointing Charles Gonzalez (District 4) and reappointing Michael D. Asmus (District 10) to the Brooks Development Authority for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- D) Reappointing Jesus G. Zuniga, Jr. (District 6) to the Building Standards Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- E) Appointing Hazem Rashed-Ali (District 8) to the Citizens' Environmental Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- F) Reappointing Bonnie Weed (District 6) to the Disability Access Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- G) Reappointing Barbara Witte-Howell (District 1) and Bonnie G. Weed (District 6) to the City/County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.

- H) Reappointing Randall S. Preissig (District 4) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- I) Reappointing Cristina Bazaldua-Salazar (District 4) to the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- J) Reappointing Mary K. Luna (District 4) to the Parks and Recreation Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- K) Appointing Mark R. Rogers (District 10) to the San Antonio Arts Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- L) Reappointing Juliet E. Garcia (District 4) to the SA2020 Commission on Strengthening Family Wellbeing for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- M) Reappointing John M. Battiato (District 10) to the San Antonio Housing Trust for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- N) Reappointing George Alva (District 1), Robert P. Gonzales (District 5), and James R. Evetts (District 9) to the Transportation Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- O) Reappointing Alfredo Dominguez (District 6) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- P) Appointing Jazmyn M. Frederick (District 5), Luis A. Hernandez, Jr. (District 7), and reappointing Lola M. Carrola (District 1) and Madeline N. Jimenez (District 1) to the San Antonio Youth Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- Q) Reappointing Frank A. Quijano (District 1), Jesus G. Zuniga, Jr. (District 6), and Roger F. Martinez (District 10) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- R) Reappointing William H. Shaw, III (District 2), Orlando Salazar (District 4), Christopher R. Martinez (District 6), and Paula J. McGee (District 9) to the Zoning Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- S) Appointing Adriana R. Garcia (District 4) to the Ethics Review Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire April 24, 2016.
- T) Reappointing Andrea Sanchez (District 4) to the San Antonio Library Board of Trustees for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2016 and Linda C. Nairn (District 10) effective October 1, 2015 for a term of office to expire September 30, 2017.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.