

City of San Antonio

Agenda Memorandum

File Number: 15-4670

Agenda Item Number: 17.

Agenda Date: 9/10/2015

In Control: City Council A Session

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

Council District 3, Council District 4, Council District 5, Council District 6, Council District 7, Council District 8, Council District 9, Council District 10

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

- A) Reappointing Carl C. Hanel (District 6) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- B) Reappointing Karen L. Speer (District 5) and Sallie F. Scott (District 10) to the Animal Care Services Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- C) Reappointing Michelle Krupa (District 3) to the Brooks Development Authority for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- D) Reappointing Joseph Diaz (District 7) to the Building Standards Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- E) Reappointing Michael A. Hogan (District 6) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- F) Reappointing Richard N. Berry (District 9) to the Disability Access Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- G) Reappointing George L. Britton (District 4) and Gloria P. Zamora (District 5) to the City/County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- H) Appointing Desiree Salmon (District 8) to the Historic and Design Review Commission for the

remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.

- I) Reappointing Myrl R. Britten (District 6) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- J) Appointing Katherine K. DeBauche (District 7) to the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- K) Reappointing Andrew M. Anguiano (District 3) to the Port Authority of San Antonio for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- L) Reappointing Richard L. Lapaglia (District 6) to the San Antonio Arts Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- M) Appointing Rita Uresti (District 3) to the SA2020 Commission on Education for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- N) Reappointing Noralyn P. Ripps (District 3) to the SA2020 Commission on Strengthening Family Wellbeing for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- O) Appointing Carl C. Hanel (District 6) to the Small Business Advocacy Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- P) Appointing David Rauch (District 8) to the San Antonio Youth Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- Q) Reappointing George L. Britton, Jr. (District 4) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.